Random thoughts…

Posted: April 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

+ I was able to watch ESPN’s 30 for 30 documentary on the trial of Allen Iverson the other day. Like most Virginians, I remembered vividly that process and what it meant for black folk not just in the 757, but across the Commonwealth.  Watching it took a lot of me emotionally not just because I have and always will be an AI fan, but if you’re from Virginia —  whether the 703, 804 or 757 — you know that the racism portrayed in that film was just a snippet of what goes on down there.

+ My cousin, the youngest of us four grandkids on my dad’s side, is graduating from college in a couple of weeks. It has been my grandparents’ dream to see all of us receive degrees. As they get up in age, it’s the little things that they find joy in. I’m overjoyed by the fact that, Lord willing, they’ll be able to see their dream come true. As I get older and more mature, I’ve come to the realization that it’s the little things that dictate happiness in one’s life. I knew it before, but I know it now. If that makes any sense.

+ Lately, I’ve been having discussions seemingly everyday with my friends about personal happiness versus professional success.  It’s a struggle that several of us are dealing with simultaneously, which is good because we’re able to help each other out. In this day and age of economic uncertainty, should we even concern ourselves with whether we’re happy or not as long as we have a good job? Or do we give up a good job/situation for greener pastures where we’ll know we’ll be happier. Closer to home.  Closer to family. A familiar environment. All I can do is pray on it and hope I’m led to the right answer.

Leave a Reply

